On the Lamb….

What does that mean, lol….on the lamb??? Anyway, when I was in the 9th grade I ran away from home. It was weird actually. I think I was gone for about a week or so.

During this time I was living with my brother, which turns out will be many posts that  I’m sure I’ll get around to. During this time I was so miserable. I felt so alienated and mistreated that I just couldn’t take it anymore. Not by my brother, but his wife, my sister-in-law, just the whole situation. I’m sure no one really knew how I was feeling though….I was truly LOST.

So I wrote my brother a letter, left it on the dresser and walked out the door. I didn’t know where I was going or what I was going to do. My brother was in the Army, so we lived on an Army base, Fort Huachuca to be exact. That first night I slept in the park inside one of those play houses. It was cold but I didn’t care. The crazy thing about it is that I kept going to school…funny huh,….there I was a runaway and still going to school, lol!!! But where else was I going to go. I still needed to eat right. So I knew if I went to school I could still eat. I think the next two nights I stayed with some cousins. They weren’t my real cousins but we told everyone we were (another story). I stayed with another friend a few nights, until I ended up at my best friends house. I stayed there a couple of nights until his mom asked him…”hey, did he stay here last night?” See, we thought we were slick. I would wander around on post until it got late, then my buddy would let me in once his parents went to sleep. I slept on the floor in his room and got up early before his parents woke up.

My adventure ended when I decided to go back home. Again, what else could I do. There I was in Fort Huachuca, Arizona…hundreds of miles away from Monroe, Louisiana where my sister was…and hundreds of miles from Oakland, California where…well, no one was except my father who didn’t want me when my mom died.

So I went back home. Out of that whole ordeal, the thing that hurt me the most is that my brother didn’t come looking for me…he didn’t come get me. Eventually, I ended back in Monroe, Louisiana living with my sister for the 11th and 12th grade. My brother had gotten orders to go to Germany and since I wasn’t adopted (a legal dependant) I couldn’t go. Wow!!!! more rejection, more denial and another example of not knowing where I belonged.

This entry was posted in relationships, Teenagers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

