Missed Opportunity

One evening, back in High School, I was walking home. I walked by this girl’s house and saw her outside crying. Now I have to also say that she was one of the finest girls in school. When I first arrived in Arizona, I kind of fell in with the “in” crowd…only because I could break dance. I had just left Oakland and so when I got to Arizona, some of the dance moves that were old back in Oakland, were fresh and new in Arizona. Anyway, when I saw her back then I had the biggest crush on this girl. She had a boyfriend at the time and his dad was some big General or something, so he was one of the popular kids. Personally, I thought he was DORK!

Well, she was outside crying. I asked her what was going on and she said that some girls where messing with her because of some dude. We talked for a while as I tried to cheer her up. Somehow we started talking about dating, and people in the neighborhood and at school. We got on the subject of boyfriends and girlfriends and she asked me who would I go out with. She started naming names of different girls and I would say yes…or no! Finally, at the end she through her name in there. First of all, I must say that I was already on cloud NINE because I was standing there talking to her, I mean she was just that fine. So when she asked me that question, I jumped from cloud NINE to cloud TWELVE, LOL!!!! Of course my answer was, YES! “Are you kidding me”, I told her. “I would go out with you in a heartbeat”. Now here is the thing that blew me away. She told me that she used to have a crush on me…GO FIGURE! Maybe it was because I was the new guy in school or whatever, but she said she liked me. Unfortunately by this time I had a girlfriend and she had a boyfriend. Quite frankly I was ready to drop everything and go out with her. I mean I still had this crush on her. The girl I was seeing wasn’t really my girlfriend. Everyone at school recognized us as being together as boyfriend and girlfriend but I never asked her out. She was a Junior or Senior at the time and pretty popular at school, so many girls thought I was off-limits; plus they were all afraid of her which didn’t do me any good.

We talked for a long time and I went home thinking about the missed opportunity I had with her.

I didn’t even get to kiss her 😦

This entry was posted in relationships, Teenagers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

