What’s On Your Drop Cloth?

Image

Recently, I had a painter come over and paint an accent wall for me. I could have done it myself, but when you have a neighbor who is a professional painter and who offered to do it for free…well, you know you can’t pass that up.

Anyway, as he was painting we were talking and some paint dripped from the roller onto the drop cloth. I was like…”oops, glad that drop cloth was there”. As I looked more closely at the drop cloth, I noticed a lot of “oops” from many of his previous jobs. It reminded me of the MANY “oops” I’ve had along life’s journey. I bet if I were to pull out my drop cloth you’d see many things. Like the time when I was 6 or 7 years old and I stuck a candy bar in my pocket while me and my aunt was at the checkout at the grocery store. Yeah, I got tore up for that. But on a more serious note. My cloth is stained with years of neglect of my only son from my first marriage. Being young and foolish, I was never there for him. Over the years I’ve tried to reach out to him but he’s filled with so much anger that it’s useless. I don’t blame him though. But I won’t give up. It’s my prayer that he’ll come around one day, then at least we can talk.

My drop cloth is stained with adultery. Naaaah, I can’t get away from that. It’s the one thing that I am constantly reminded of every time I look at TV. If you’ve read my post Infidelity Is Everywhere then you know what I’m talking about. There are two huge stains on there for that. Even though my wife knows about it, and we’ve talked about it, it is something that still effects our relationship today. Ya know, I titled this blog Overcoming Adultery, sometimes I think you can never get over adultery. If you try to look at it logically, you can get away with it. The reasons why you did it may seem legitimate at the time, but it is not worth a lifetime of pain and hurt…for your spouse or YOU. Yes, if you have committed adultery, you should feel hurt and pain as well. If you don’t, then you really need to look at the relationship you’re in. I really do believe that WE can OVERCOME adultery. But it is gonna take some deep yearning and commitment to the truth.

They say that our souls are tied to every person we’ve had sex with. In other words, when we have sex with a person, there is a connection between us that that person that remains forever. Good sex or bad sex, it doesn’t matter. It’s not a badge of honor, although for some men it is, but my cloth is also stained with many sexual relationships I’ve had throughout my life. Don’t get me wrong, it sure felt good making some of those stains….LOL! And honestly, there are a few I wish I could take back.

I guess if your drop cloth isn’t stained then you really haven’t lived life. The reason I say that is because we all have messed up at one point in our lives. Some of us more than others. Some of us have done some raunchy, mean, stupid, silly, hurtful and even deliberate things. I’m just glad that the life we live….the very wall we are painting….has the opportunity to turn out BEAUTIFUL!

This entry was posted in random thoughts, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

