The “Wow” Moment of my Marriage

For many, the best or “wow” moment of the marriage is probably the wedding night. For others it may be the birth of children and other memorable moments. While all these things are wonderful, mine seem to be quite different.

I may have blogged about this before, so forgive me if you’ve read it before.

One day my wife came home and was upset. She had lost her wedding ring. She said she was driving home and just happen to notice that it was gone. It wasn’t the original wedding ring. The stone had fallen out and we hadn’t gotten it reset. Well, she saw this one that she liked and so we bought it. We hadn’t gotten it perfectly sized yet, so she wore it in the meantime. Anyway, when she got home she was upset because it was gone. She had only been to two places…Walmart and HEB (a local grocery store here in Texas). For some reason, there was something in me that told me to go look for it. So I got in the car and drove to the HEB that she said she went to. I stopped by HEB first because it was on the way. In fact, the Walmart was just across the highway. Anyway, I walked into the store and immediately went to the office to inquire about lost and found. Unfortunately, they hadn’t received any lost rings, so I gave them my name and number and asked to them to call me if it was found. I walked around the store, up and down a couple of the isles she said she was on and didn’t see anything. At that point, I decided that it was a lost so I started towards the exit to go over to the Walmart. As I was leaving, something told me to check the checkout lanes. I think it was the first or second one I came to…I looked down by the candy racks and guess what….THERE WAS THE RING!

It was so amazing that I couldn’t believe it. I went back to the office and told them that I found it and went home. When I walked into the house, she was in the kitchen. I remember walking past her and then turning back. She looked and asked what happened. At that point I opened up my hand and showed her the ring. Now, here is where the Most Memorable Moment came. When she saw the ring, she put her arms around me and gave me a hug and kissed me on the neck. On the surface, and for some people, that is an ordinary and daily thing. However, for me, the intensity and passion that was behind the hug and kiss was nothing I have ever experienced from her before, nor since. I really can’t explain the feeling that came with that moment. Strange as it may seem, I don’t think I’ll ever get that again.

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “Wow” Moment of my Marriage

  1. Mrs Finkling says:

    Wow – your a keeper!!! wrote a recent blog on the secret of long lasting love….
    http://finkling.com/2013/11/05/me-love-you-long-time/

Leave a Reply

